Men, Let’s Revisit the Narratives of Our Childhoods

It’s never easy to acknowledge one’s own problematic behaviors, especially when it comes to courtship, romance, and sex. We’ll gaslight ourselves right out of self-reflection.

Jordan Shapiro
8 min readJun 30, 2021

--

I told a former lover that I wrote a book about being a feminist dad. “I’ll read it,” they said. “But I don’t know if I can take it seriously. I remember what you were like when you were younger.”

It’s true, I’ve made a lot of mistakes in my life. I can’t deny it. Looking back now, I’m ashamed of the inappropriate ways I’ve behaved. I don’t claim to be perfect — not even to have achieved peak-feminist consciousness. Instead, I’m just working to recognize how a patriarchal culture socialized me in problematic ways. I’m doing my best to take responsibility for dismantling the troublesome narratives of masculinity that I’ve integrated over 43 years as a privileged cisgender man. And most importantly, I’m trying to raise my children in ways that counteract widely accepted, old-school patterns of sexism and misogyny.

Of course, it’s never easy to acknowledge one’s own problematic behaviors. It’s especially difficult when it comes to courtship, romance, and sex. Why? Because it requires revisiting the autobiography in my…

--

--

Jordan Shapiro

I wrote some books - Father Figure: How to Be a Feminist Dad & The New Childhood: Raising Kids to Thrive in a Connected World. I teach at Temple University.